top of page
Search
  • jacksonfilm1998

Being an Artist in Lockdown

Updated: Aug 11, 2021

It's 2021, a fresh start, we're finally leaving the awful year of 2020 behind and moving into the bright future of the new year. I made a plan of all the things I want to achieve and create this year but then big Bozza comes along and says "wait a few month lads, we kind of dropped the ball", turns out the events of last year are also following us into this one as well.


I can't meet up and do photoshoots and work on my career, I can't go to the gym and work on myself. So, I thought what can I do? Luckily I have a passion for other kinds of arts that don't involve working with other people. I also enjoy scriptwriting, to be honest, becoming a Writer/Director is actually my long term goal and I mostly do photography for fun.



I didn't want a repeat of the last lockdown where I let my creativity stagnate and lose the drive to progress with my goals. Something so easy to do with a lack of external inspiration or muses to be in front of my camera.


This month I redrafted my feature script, the story of a powerless loser becoming a superhero to save Afflecks Palace from gangsters. With my new draft, I've submitted my script to a couple of film festivals, I'll let you know how that turns out soon hopefully.


The biggest news to come out of this month though is that I sold my first script to Acorn Showreels. I can't say much right now but it's a short story exploring the what if of lost love. Filming is planned to take place on the 30th of Jan. Sadly with lockdown I won't be on set but I'm really excited to see what the talented director, Robert Campbell and his team will do with the script and what directions they'll take it. The film will be submitted to short film festivals across the UK soon so hopefully, I'll be able to share the finished product with you then.


For you photography lovers I still have some old content coming out this week. A shoot I did with Holly Laura Platt, (@hollylauraplatt on Instagram) the first post is up on my page now so be sure you check that out and give it some love.



The shoot was my last one of the year, back in December, I don't think you would have been able to guess that though with the amount of sun I was getting that day. Keep an eye on my page this week for some beautiful golden shots, I'm really excited to show you what I have planned for Friday's post but you'll have to wait for that.


Sadly that might be my last post for a while unless I uncover some old stuff back before I started running this page. A simpler time before I was worrying about algorithms.



I hope I'll be able to see you guys soon on some shoots and I wish you all the best in these uncertain times.


Thanks for reading,

Thomas Jackson

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page